Version Control
Compare c

Releases and independent scores retrieved from Epoch AI (Data on AI models; Capabilities & benchmarking) on 2026-08-24; record updated 2026-10-19

A public registry of AI model releases.

From ChatGPT to 2026-10-19: 352 releases from twelve tracked labs, one mark each.

Skip the charts

Releases nearly tripled from 2023 to 2025

Pooled across the twelve labs, the median wait between one release and the next fell from 3.5 days in 2023 to 2 in 2025.

Revisions, updates to a model already on record, are left out of these counts: 14 so far.

Five of the twelve labs have no system card on any checked release

Model cards: 29 of 45 checked releases in 2023 (64%), 50 of 93 in 2026 so far (54%). Usage policies: 38 of 45 (84%), then 93 of 93 (100%).

The highest independent score on GPQA Diamond (graduate-level science questions) rose from 36 in 2023 to 95 in 2026

On a second benchmark, SWE-bench Verified (fixing real GitHub issues), Epoch's top score rose from 31 in 2024 to 84 in 2026.

The highest open-weights GPQA Diamond score on record is 91.9 (GLM-5.2, 2026).

The lab's score is above Epoch's in five of six pairs

In three (Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite, GPT-5.4 and GPT-5.5) the lab ran a higher reasoning setting than Epoch, so those gaps include a settings difference.

Six pairs from recent releases cannot test whether labs overstate.

The wait between releases shortened at ten of the twelve labs

For example, median days between releases at first and lately: OpenAI 66 to 22, Anthropic 104 to 21, Google DeepMind 41 to 15, Alibaba (Qwen) 20.5 to 11.5. "At first" is the median of a lab's first third of gaps on record; "lately", of its last third.

ByteDance, Tencent and Baidu are not tracked, so the record cannot support a comparison between countries.

Every view on this page, in words and tables. Every entry, with its sources, is in the explorer.

2023 · 45 releases

The first full year after ChatGPT. 11 of the twelve tracked labs released at least one model. Median time between one release and the next: 3.5 days. The busiest week brought 5 releases.

2024 · 92 releases

All twelve tracked labs released at least one model. First on record this year: Moonshot AI. Median time between one release and the next: 2 days. The busiest week brought 9 releases.

2025 · 120 releases

All twelve tracked labs released at least one model. Median time between one release and the next: 2 days. The busiest week brought 6 releases.

2026 · 93 so far

A partial year: 93 releases by 2026-10-19. By the same date in 2025 there were 98. 11 of the twelve tracked labs released at least one model. Median time between one release and the next: 1.5 days. The busiest week brought 7 releases.

Releases and revisions per year. Revisions are counted apart.
YearReleasesRevisions
202220
2023451
2024923
20251207
2026933

OpenAI: the wait between releases

About 66 days between releases at first, about 22 lately.

Anthropic: the wait between releases

About 104 days between releases at first, about 21 lately.

Google DeepMind: the wait between releases

About 41 days between releases at first, about 15 lately.

Alibaba (Qwen): the wait between releases

About 20.5 days between releases at first, about 11.5 lately.

Releases per lab, by document: on record / not disclosed / not yet checked.
LabSystem cardModel cardUsage policyPaper
OpenAI36 / 12 / 01 / 47 / 048 / 0 / 07 / 41 / 0
Anthropic18 / 8 / 05 / 21 / 026 / 0 / 00 / 26 / 0
Google DeepMind4 / 51 / 045 / 10 / 049 / 6 / 034 / 21 / 0
Meta2 / 24 / 020 / 5 / 120 / 5 / 116 / 10 / 0
xAI9 / 7 / 22 / 16 / 018 / 0 / 00 / 18 / 0
Mistral0 / 41 / 028 / 13 / 041 / 0 / 09 / 32 / 0
DeepSeek0 / 25 / 024 / 1 / 025 / 0 / 020 / 5 / 0
Alibaba (Qwen)0 / 63 / 048 / 15 / 063 / 0 / 032 / 30 / 1
Moonshot AI0 / 10 / 08 / 2 / 010 / 0 / 06 / 4 / 0
Z.ai (Zhipu)0 / 16 / 013 / 3 / 016 / 0 / 014 / 2 / 0
Cohere2 / 15 / 013 / 4 / 017 / 0 / 06 / 11 / 0
Amazon6 / 1 / 06 / 1 / 07 / 0 / 03 / 4 / 0

2023

The first 7 independent scores on record; the highest is 36 on GPQA Diamond.

2024

23 scored this year; the highest is 74.

2025

26 scored this year; the highest is 93.

2026

34 scored so far; the highest is 95.

OpenAI: independent GPQA Diamond scores

First independent GPQA Diamond score on record: 35.7 (GPT-4, 2023). Latest: 89.9 (GPT-5.6 Sol, 2026). Highest: 90.7 (GPT-5.5). 1 of these 17 scored releases has open weights.

Anthropic: independent GPQA Diamond scores

First independent GPQA Diamond score on record: 33.0 (Claude 2.1, 2023). Latest: 92.9 (Claude Opus 5, 2026).

Google DeepMind: independent GPQA Diamond scores

First independent GPQA Diamond score on record: 34.0 (Gemini 1.0 Pro, 2023). Latest: 94.8 (Gemini 3.7 Flash, 2026). 2 of these 12 scored releases have open weights.

Alibaba (Qwen): independent GPQA Diamond scores

First independent GPQA Diamond score on record: 28.8 (Qwen1.5-72B, 2024). Latest: 82.3 (Qwen3.7 Flash, 2026). Highest: 92.7 (Qwen 3.8 Max). 8 of these 14 scored releases have open weights.

A second benchmark

On a second benchmark, SWE-bench Verified (fixing real GitHub issues), Epoch's top score rose from 31 in 2024 to 84 in 2026.

OpenAI: on SWE-bench Verified

On SWE-bench Verified, OpenAI's independent score moves from 48 to 81 across 6 releases on record.

Anthropic: on SWE-bench Verified

On SWE-bench Verified, Anthropic's independent score moves from 61 to 84 across 8 releases on record.

Google DeepMind: on SWE-bench Verified

On SWE-bench Verified, Google DeepMind's independent score moves from 58 to 79 across 3 releases on record.

What the lab said, beside what Epoch measured

5 releases were graded twice on the same benchmark: once by the releasing lab, once by Epoch. 2 of the 6 pairs sit within a single point. In three (Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite, GPT-5.4 and GPT-5.5) the lab ran a higher reasoning setting than Epoch, so those gaps include a settings difference. With so few pairs this is not a test of whether labs overstate. Both numbers are kept; neither is averaged.

Lab-reported and independent scores on the same release and benchmark, with settings as written.
ReleaseBenchmarkLABINDLab settingEpoch setting
Gemini 3.1 Flash-LiteGPQA Diamond86.974.2high thinkinglow effort
GPT-5.4GPQA Diamond92.884.8xhigh effortlow effort
GPT-5.5GPQA Diamond93.690.7xhigh effortlow effort
DeepSeek-V4-ProGPQA Diamond90.189.6max thinkingmax effort
DeepSeek-V4-ProSWE-bench Verified80.677.6max thinkingmax effort
GLM-5.2GPQA Diamond91.291.9not statedmax effort

Fewer arrive with a paper

In 2023, 27 of 45 checked releases had a paper on record (60%). In 2026 so far, 22 of 92 (24%). Papers can come out weeks after a release, so recent years may rise.

And fewer have a parameter count on record

In 2023, 26 of 45 releases had a parameter count on record (58%). In 2026 so far, 34 of 93 (37%). Counts reported by others are left out. Epoch often adds counts for recent models late, and we have not checked the blanks against the labs' own pages.

What changed, 2023 to 2026

From 2023 to 2026, the highest independent GPQA Diamond score rose from 36 to 95. The share of checked releases with a paper fell from 60% to 24%, and the share with a parameter count on record fell from 58% to 37%. The share with a system card rose from 11% to 35% (5 of 45, then 32 of 92).

From 2023 to 2026, fewer releases came with a paper and more with a system card

Papers can come out weeks after a release, so recent years may rise. Parameter counts are Epoch AI's and divide by all releases, leaving out counts reported by others; Epoch often adds counts for recent models late, and we have not checked the blanks against the labs' own pages.

0%50%100%Paper24%60%Parameter count37%58%System card11%35%20232026 so far

The full record, its rules and who keeps it

Parameter counts reported by others are left out of the parameter figures. Record updated 2026-10-19.